top of page

Seoul Food, Seoul (-So) Good!

Reason why I love travelling, I get to experience each country's culture! Every country has their own culture, their own story, and it is really amazing to get to experience it all. I stayed in Seoul for 2 weeks and in between my trip, I manage to squeeze in one night in Busan. First of all, I already love Korean food and when we were there, we got to try all the top recommended foods.

1) Issac Toast

-located almost everywhere in Seoul

You just have to try everything in their menu, I also love their bagel sandwiches! Who don't love Issac Toasts?!?!

2) Andong Jjimdak ( Braised Chicken) - Gangnam

-branches at Myeongdong as well!

The portion is hugeeee! Bee & I had a bit of difficulty finishing it but I think we did a pretty good job. Tastes very different from the normal soy sauce chicken I have back in Singapore. There are potatoes, chewy clear glass noodles, quail eggs, chicken thigh, onions, bamboo shoots and cabbage! You can choose different levels of spiciness but we went with the normal ones.

3) Korean BBQ @ Hongdae

(I cant find the restaurant that we were in but honestly, most kbbq tastes amazing cause the quality of meat they serve are amazing!)

4) Itaewon the Burger

22 Noksapyeong-daero 32-gil, Itaewon 1(il)-dong, Yongsan-gu, Seoul, South Korea

Their Bacon Cheese Fries are deelicious!

Beef Mushroom Burger- verdict 8.5/10

They win Shake shack in my opinion. Shake shack burgers are a lot saltier but the burgers in this restaurant, are very much 'healthier' and juicier in fact. I can actually taste the well marinated, rich beef juices... I really recommend trying this burger! It's really hard to explain why I love this burger more than Shake Shack burgers but you just have to try both to understand where I'm coming from haha.

5) Bitstopping

South Korea, Seoul, Seocho-gu, Jamwon-dong, Sinbanpo-ro 47-gil, 68

This is the place where you can be creative to how you want your ice cream to look! But it is not cheap, can cost from 10000 to 20000won ( about 12 to 25sgd) depending on how many decorative biscuits you want!

Bee & I created our own ice cream and I must say it was a fun experience. But we were quite reluctant to eat our ice cream because it was too adorable hahaha!

One last picture of my ice cream because I have to make my $15 worth hahaha!

6) Gimbap

-Random store in near Seoul Station

I live on this probably everyday during the 2 weeks. Even the ones sold in the marts are cheap and good ( especially the ones from Paik). You can get them easily everywhere, and they are healthy as well! :)

7) Aori's Ramen in MyeongDong

It's hard to get the exact location of this place, but the people dressed in red at myeongdong will direct you to this place! They are extremely helpful and have extraordinarily good memory of all the places!

I chose the option on the top right, but you can add in extra toppings! The ramen was not bad but I have had way better ones so I will give this about 6.5/10. I was a little disappointed, I went with really high expectations. But nevertheless, they gave us free set of side dishes ( I dont know why though) so I guess that made me feel a lot better haha! I was also hoping Seungri from BigBang would somehow show up! :P

8) Sulbing

32-17 Myeongdong 2(i)-ga, Jung-gu, Seoul, South Korea

Bee & I tried the Sulbing in Myeongdong! I believe this was the matcha flavour with dark chocolate brownies. It was a tad too sweet for my liking but it still taste good. My two favourtie combos together! Will give this 7/10. A pity I didn't get to try other flavours!

9) Myth Jokbal

78 Namdaemun-ro, Myeongdong 1(il)-ga, Jung-gu, Seoul, South Korea

This was my FAVOURITE MEAL during this entire trip, I went there another time before heading back home. The meat was so succulent and along with the fats.... A.M.A.Z.I.N.G. This was definitely a 10/10 for me.

bottom of page